A different meaning to a higher power

A different meaning to a higher power

Before I begin I wanted to say Yes, I believe in God and I am Catholic. I will not judge you if you are Atheist,Jewish or Buddhist or whatever you may be because I believe if you’re kind to me than I am kind to you,that’s all that matters. We can all coexist. I’m never going to try to convince you to do something you don’t believe.
For myself I believe everything happens for a reason. That something happens because God intended for it to happen. For example, Me being big, while some of you may say “God doesn’t like gluttony and he doesn’t lift that fork in that hole in your face Jackie, that’s all you”. Yes I agree, but sometimes I think to myself ” What would have become of me if I was skinny my whole life, would I be the person I am today?”. I went to a school with skinny pretty girls who to this day act like selfish spoiled drunken girls that judge to no end. Would I have become one of them or would I still have been a weird girl that was open to all friendships and probably trusted more than she should’ve? I know someday I’ll lose the weight I need to and I’ll be in a stable state of mind but I feel like being as big as I am was God kind of being like ” Hey, I know this sucks but you need thick skin and I want you to become a better person”. Even if I am lifting that fork, eventually I’ll put it down and be “normal”. I always hear people when they have a problem to ” Give it to a higher power” which is fine and I agree with. I want to also stress that a higher power isn’t just about God or whatever you believe in. I feel like a higher power could also be that better version of you. It makes no sense, I know. But if you have a problem give it up, and let it go for the better of yourself. For that person that you want to become. For you. Sometimes you need to be your own higher power. For those of you that are religious I’m not saying to give up for that moment any sense of your God. I’m just saying you need to look at your motivations and maybe that will empower you and help you become “The New You”.

Just a Monday Thought!

3 thoughts on “A different meaning to a higher power

  1. Strange, how our bodies exercise free will against the mind which is all about the culture and a few other things, mostly important things. What we struggle to suppress here is adored over there. In the end, when the mind and body are content with one another, the soul is content as well.

  2. A scripture that I think is applicable here is Romans 12:2 “And be not conformed to this world: but be ye transformed by the renewing of your mind, that ye may prove what is that good, and acceptable, and perfect, will of God.” In order to get to a better version of yourself, you have to have a renewing of the mind. In order to renew something, you have to let something expire. Whether it’s being judgmental of others, being overly judgmental of yourself, or if that’s being selfish, arrogant, or lazy. Let those things expire, and then when you renew your mind, be less selfish, arrogant or lazy. Learn to be more accepting of others, and of yourself. We shouldn’t try to be better than anyone else, except the person we were yesterday. I really enjoyed this post. I’m not spiritual in any regard, but neither am I an atheist. I can accept that a god really does exist, but I don’t regard myself as an agnostic. I no longer believe that I need a god. But the bible does offer some incredible insight about certain things, and this is one of them. Thanks for sharing your thoughts about becoming better versions of ourselves.

Leave a comment